What is chongqed.org doing?
chongqed.org is trying to fight wiki spam, blog spam, and guestbook spam.
Spammers are taking advantage of wikis, blogs, and guestbooks to promote their websites. That's why many wikis are under a constant spam attack; that's why many comments on blogs don't make any kind of sense; that's why you never look at guestbooks.
The spammers do this to influence the results that Google and other search engines will return for certain keywords. If there are many links to one page on the web and all these links contain a certain keyword, e.g. 'viagra', then a search engine is more likely to return this page at the top of its list of results when you search for 'viagra'. By spamming wikis, blogs, and guestbooks, the spammers try to get as many links as they can for their pages.
chongqed.org is trying to fight this kind of spam. We do this by linking the spammers' keywords to pages that contain information about spam and the spammer. We hope that these pages documenting the spamming will be higher up on the search engine results pages than the pages of the spammers.
Your options
- Learn more about the wiki spam problem and how to prevent spam.
- Learn more about fighting back.
- Read more about about chongqed.org and chongqed.org's history.
- Take a look at our (long) list of known spammers.
- Join the community and discuss chongqed.org on the chongqed.org wiki.
News
Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Server move finally finished
After a couple of technical problems, chongqed.org now resides on a new server.
The new server should be a lot faster; we can now install all the Perl modules we ever wanted and thus I hope that chongqed.org's quality of service will be improved by the move.
Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
marketingfuture.com - a spammer?
In the last two days, I have my cleaning bot clean the Spanish GNU wiki. It seems to be abandoned; nobody was removing all the spam and thus I found it with more than 1,000 spammy edits the other day.
Today, it was relatively quiet there. The page that my bot had to revert most often is a page created by one of the spammers: Qiyang.
So I entered the term Qiyang into Google and the first result is for a SEO company that boasts "7 year experience of search engine optimization". And further: "You can be highly successful in China - you just have to know how to do it correctly".
So I guess the obvious question is: Is marketingfuture.com a major spamming organization?