Our "war" with chongqed.com

On Monday, August, 2nd, Joe got an email from one Lior Yashinski of gsdevelops.com. Apparently, gsdevelops.com is a little company that does a little web design and a little SEO. And Lior had done a little spamming while doing his SEO. He had spammed for usagc.us using the keywords online green card, green card, green card lottery, green card lottery online, online green card lottery, immigration, and immigration services.

In his email, he issued an ultimatum. Whithin 48 hours we were supposed to remove usagc.us and his keywords from our database or he would "mess up with your site and get it removed from the search engines".

Since I was on a vacation in that week, Joe told him that he couldn't do anything about that. usagc.us could and would not be removed from our database before I returned. So Lior extended the ultimatum until Sunday. I still wasn't back on Sunday and so I found out on Monday that he had registered chongqed.com.

On this site (which is currently still under construction) he gives a little woozy information about wiki/blog/guestbook spam and about chongqed.org. It looks like he will even have a forum to discuss us. We will not be posting there but there is nothing to stop you from letting him know what people think about web spamming.

Apparently, he didn't like his appearance in our database and "I don't like you people destroying my reputation and even worse!!!! my clients reputation.".

Now, of course it's too bad that spammers don't like us. And it's too bad they don't approve of what we do. But ever since we had the idea for chongqed.org we vaguely felt that spammers might not like what we do. We can live with that. We don't like the spammers, why should they like us?

We are not trying to ruin the reputation of spammers and spamvertized sites. We are only letting people know the truth about those spammers and sites. Attacking wikis, blogs, or guestbooks to promote their pages is what is hurting their reputation by using such deplorable SEO methods. Thousands of people already see and have to put up with removing this spam all around the internet. We just want to help spread the word to more people about this problem and specificly who is doing it. We have had several spammers claim they stopped spamming either because they didn't like the publicity or they realized what they were doing was wrong. All we do is document cases of spamming. If you aren't spamming, you won't end up in our database.

What seems to have upset Lior most was that we posted a warning from the United States Federal Trade Commission about possible fradulent Green Card sites. At the www.dvlottery.state.gov site anyone can register for a chance at a Green Card but only durning a certain time of year. Lior's site will take your money any time of year and register for you when the www.dvlottery.state.gov site starts accepting registrations. Supposedly they also look at the registration and help make sure you fill it out properly. But there is no way of knowing if that happens at all. If you want to register for a green card you are better off doing it at the official website which is completely free of charge.

Some facts about chongqed.org

This silly incident is a good occasion to make clear some facts about chongqed.org that may not have been that clear until now: